• Biodiversity Conservation

    NSW is home to the unique and iconic wildlife and ecosystems, both within and outside of protected areas. NPA is involved in a range of projects to educate the community and help protect the biodiversity of NSW from the many threats it faces, such as habitat loss, urban development and human population growth, the effects of climate change and the impacts of feral animals and weeds.
  • 1

“NPA stands apart from most other Australian conservation groups due to the magnitude of the on-ground, practical, local and State-wide work of over 500 active volunteers.  A system of annual awards has been established to publicly recognise exceptional and tireless efforts of NPA volunteers,” said Kevin Evans, CEO National Parks Association of NSW.

This year’s Annual Dinner and Volunteer Awards ceremony was attended by the NSW Minister for Environment and Heritage, the Hon Robyn Parker, MP; The Hon Luke Foley, MP Shadow Minister for the Environment; Anne King, Head of NPWS; Alex Greenwich Independent MP for Sydney; and two NSW Greens MPs, David Shoebridge, and Dr Mehreen Faruqi. NPA was honoured to have bi-partisan support on one of our most important days and for these guests to witness us congratulate and honour all of our 2013 award winners.

The Prudence Tucker Volunteer Award is in honour of the late Prudence Tucker, a tireless volunteer for State Council and Sydney Branch who passed away in early 2004.  Prudence’s volunteer efforts epitomise the often unrecognised efforts of those who support NPA’s work to look after our natural areas. NPA There are four Prudence Tucker Awards as follows.  The first two are awarded on a State-wide (whole of NPA) basis and latter two are awarded on a per Branch basis.

State Conservation Awards: For substantial contributions to significant state-wide conservation outcomes, benefiting both the NPA and the wider Australian community. The 2013 Award Winners are:

Beth Williams, OAM, Armidale Branch
James Tedder, Three Valleys Branch

Organisational Support Awards: For substantial contributions to support the organisational structure of the NPA over a significant period of time. The 2013 Award Winners are:

Marilyn Meagher, Librarian and
Helen Yoxall, Archivist

Branch Awards: For substantial contributions to the wellbeing of the Branch over a significant period of time. The 2013 Award Winner is:

Roger Pearson, Hunter Branch

Bushwalking Leadership Awards: For substantial involvement in walks leadership and coordination over a significant period of time. The 2013 Award Winners are:

Bill Macks, Central Coast Branch and
Bob Shayler, Sydney Branch

Media Contact: Kevin Evans, CEO National Parks Association of NSW 0457 797 977